Kapolcs, located in the nature reserve area of the Káli Basin, is mostly known for the Valley of Arts Festival held since 1989. Today thefestival that began in Kapololcs has venues across 7 villages (Kapolcs, Vigántpetend, Taliándörögd, Monostorapáti, Öcs, Pula and Nagyvázsony).
During the festival, visitors can learn about the work of local craftsmen, see theater performances and exhibitions, listen to classical, world and folk music.
But the small settlement is very well worth visiting not only during the week of the festival but all year for its architectural monuments and nature sights such as the Bondoró Hill or the little lakes lying on the basaltic plateau.
In the 19th century, there were 9 mills operating in Kapolcs, and some of these can still be seen. It is worth taking a stroll in the village and visiting the remaining mills.
Country ParkIn the Hungary-shaped, 3000 m² large park, visitors can see miniatures of the Votive Church (Dome) of Szeged, Mosque of Pasha Qasim in Pécs and the Parliament among other maquettes of important buildings of the country. It really feels like exploring the whole country in a few hours!
Pokol-lik (Hell Hole) CaveLocated in the basalt layers of the Bondoró Hill, the 40 meters long cave has been know for at least 3000 years. It was first mentioned in writing in 1610 and the first detailed description of the cave system is from 1834.
Village Mill MuseumIn the old village mill of Kapolcs, visitors can see an exhibition about the process and tools of grinding, and get to know a special technique only used in Hungary.
Blacksmith and Local History MuseumIn the forge that was built at the end of the 18 century, today visitors can get to know the craft and tool of the blacksmiths.
Holy Trinity ChurchThe Roman Catholic church of Kapolcs was built in late Baroque style in 1783.
The area of Kapolcs was probably already populated in the Paleolithic period, and the basalt columns on the hill next to the settlement are said to be the remains of a hill fort of Attila the Hun. The Roman military roar connecting Buda and the Adriatic Sea lead next to Kapolcs which, according to the archaeological findings, was populated in this period.
In 1091, the Kuns invading Bihar were lead by Chieftain Kapolcs who was defeated and killed by Ladislaus I at area of the present-day settlement. The customs of the time dictated that the defeated tribe was settled, and they named their new village after their leader - this is how Kapolcs was named.
The first written mention of the village comes from a letter sent from the Pannonhalma Abbey in 1092. The name of the village was finalised in 1640 but it only became the official name in 1846.
By the 19th century, the village developed a progressive industry, the local craftsmen were well known in the country. The important for the industry were the local mills. There were many water mills along the Eger Stream, most of them were named after their owner or a relative (Szaller Mill, Ilona Mill).
After the nationalisation during Socialism, the mill's were closed or left to go to ruin, and even the Eger Stream dried up. Today it seems that the stream was saved and in 2000 the reconstruction of the Szaller Mill began.
Since 1989, the village is known for its famous event, the Valley of the Arts Festival.